Robinson named chair of the Canadian Electricity Association

By ReNew Canada 09:03AM January 10, 2018



Read Later

The Canadian Electricity Association (CEA) and its board of directors announced the appointment of Ray Robinson, president and chief executive officer of Saint John Energy, as chair of the Association. Robinson will succeed Scott Thon who has held the position since January 2016.

“On behalf of CEA’s Board and executive team, I am delighted to welcome Ray as the new Chair,” said Scott Thon, president and CEO of AltaLink and outgoing chair. “Ray has a wealth of knowledge and industry experience that will ensure the association remains well positioned to capitalize on the opportunities and navigate the challenges ahead.”

Robinson is an electrical engineer with over 30 years of executive and management experience in electrical utilities throughout North America and the Caribbean with demonstrated capabilities in major infrastructure developments, project management, asset management, and operational transformation. He has five years’ tenure on CEA’s board, including his current role serving as vice chair.

“Electricity is the great enabler of modern society, powering our businesses and the lifestyle to which Canadians have grown accustomed”, said Robinson. “I am honoured for the opportunity to lead this distinguished group on its ambitious and incredibly important mission of shaping the future of Canadian electricity.”

Previously, Robinson was an executive with Emera, taking on numerous senior executive roles within Emera and several of its operating subsidiaries. Prior to that, he served as the president & CEO of Yukon Energy Corporation, and held various senior positions at a number of Canadian electric utilities from coast-to-coast-to-coast.

“I am delighted at the prospect of working more closely with Ray and continue benefiting from his extensive experience,” said Sergio Marchi, president and CEO, Canadian Electricity Association. “I would also like to extend our deepest gratitude to outgoing chair Scott Thon for the exceptional leadership he provided over his two-year term.”

Would you recommend this article?

Suggested News Articles

News, Western CanadaOct. 19, 2018
Read Later

Manitoba to review Bipole III, Keeyask projects

Manitoba government Crown Services Minister Colleen Mayer has announced the appointment of Gordon Campbell to conduct an economic review of the development of two major Manitoba Hydro projects. “Mr. Campbell…
National, NewsOct. 18, 2018
Read Later

Leach named QUEST executive director

The board of directors of QUEST (Quality Urban Energy Systems of Tomorrow) has announced that Tonja Leach has been appointed as the organization’s new executive director. Leach has been with…
News, OntarioSep. 26, 2018
Read Later

Darlington Refurbishment hits Unit 2 project milestone

The reassembly of the Unit 2 reactor at Darlington Nuclear Generating Station (GS) is now underway nearly two years after OPG and its project partners began the Darlington Refurbishment. “We’re…