The Ontario Road Builders’ Association (ORBA) presented several awards and honours to members in the industry for their service and commitment to the association and the road building industry at it recent 2022 Summit.

“It is always a great pleasure to recognize the best our industry has to offer,” said Bryan Hocking, Chief Executive Officer, ORBA. “The road building industry takes great pride in health and safety, infrastructure innovation, governance, academic achieving in engineering, and excellence in construction.”

ORBA’s 2022 Summit recognized the companies and individuals below in the following categories:

2021 Routly Safety Awards:

The Routly Safety Awards recognizes ORBA member companies for their superior performance in worker health and safety in three categories. The Awards are presented annually at the ORBA convention. Recipients are determined from statistics provided annually by Infrastructure Health & Safety Association.

  • Category One Routly Safety Award for 2021 – B.R. Foulton Construction Ltd.  – for achieving up to 100,000 average person hours without a lost-time injury.
  • Category Two Routly Safety Award for 2021 – L B Leveque Bros. – for achieving more than 100,000 average hours without a lost-time injury.
  • Milestone Award – Roto-Mill – 1,034,479 hours without a lost-time to injury.


The recognizes innovative techniques and methods, applied on actual projects or in activities or processes, performed by an ORBA member company, which improve the quality and/or reduce the cost of construction.

2021 Recipient: Kiewit the winner of the 2021 Transportation Infrastructure Innovation Award for the Eurovia Vinci Ottawa LRT Stage 2 project.

2021 ORBA Distinguished Service Award: 

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes a representative from a member company who has contributed significantly to the objectives of the Association during the past year, through volunteering of time and resources and through the leadership shown in achieving those objectives.

See also  Federal Minister's comments about infrastructure funding draw industry criticism

2021 Recipient: Steve Manolis, General Manager, Coco Asphalt Engineering, A Division of Coco Paving Inc.

Steve was elected to the OAPC Executive (formerly OHMPA) in 2016. Steve’s contributions, commitment and dedication to the road building and asphalt and paving industry has earned him several recognitions including OAPC’s Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year Award (2016) and the Bleeds Black Award (2017).

2021 ORBA Director of the Year Award:

The Director of the Year Award recognizes an ORBA Director who has contributed significantly to the objectives of the Association during the past year through leadership, volunteering of time and resources and working on ORBA committees and special projects.

2021 Recipient: Rocky Coco, President, Coco Group

Rocky Coco is the embodiment of this award. He has faced leadership in these unprecedented times with courage and grace, and has dedicated his time to boldly tackle issues facing our industry during yet another unpredictable year.

OAPC Honorary Life Membership Award:

This award recognizes a member for their dedication to advancing the objectives of OAPC and their notable service to the council.

2021 Recipient: Cosmo Crupi, D. Crupi & Sons Ltd.

ORBA Scholarship Recipients:

  • ORBA Civil Engineering University Scholarship – Duncan Waugh, First-year Civil Engineering student at Western University
  • ORBA J.D. Chick Scholarship – Andrew Pavan, Civil Engineering, Final-year Civil Engineering student at McMaster University

MTO Asphalt Paving Contractor of the Year – 2021

Winner: Lavis Contracting Co. Ltd. for their work on Highway 21, near Forest (Contract 2020-3042).

MTO Concrete Contract of the Year – 2021

Winner: McLean Taylor Construction for their work on Highway 21, near Bayfield (Contract 2020-3044)

See also  Women in Construction: Lisa Laronde

Featured image: (Kiewit)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here