The Ontario Road Builders’ Association (ORBA) announced that Mario Villeneuve has been elected as president at the association’s 96th Annual Convention and AGM.

In his inaugural address, Villeneuve spoke of the promising opportunities ahead for the industry in light of the Ontario government’s unprecedented transportation infrastructure capital program. The new president’s priorities include furthering ORBA’s work to develop a sustainable and inclusive road building workforce, more transparent and effective highway maintenance contracts, more environmentally sustainable industry practices, the need for a road to the Ring of Fire and further improvements to Highways 11 and 17.

“Now is the time to work together as an Association and seize the opportunities facing us and the challenges that confront us,” said Villeneuve. “Make no mistake that I am committed to ensuring that ORBA and OAPC become the leading voice of the road building industry in every corner of this province.”

ORBA also thanked its outgoing president, Kevin Machej of Dufferin Construction Company for his exemplary leadership over the past year.

ORBA also congratulated Peter Hamstra of Dufferin Construction Company on his election as the 2023 Chair of the Ontario Asphalt Pavement Council (OAPC), a Council of ORBA. During his inaugural remarks at the ORBA Convention he reaffirmed OAPC’s commitment to ensuring excellence in quality asphalt products and paving techniques, promoting environmental responsibility, continued adherence to industry codes and standards and advocating for the rights and interests of the industry.

ORBA and OAPC extends special thanks to the outgoing Chair, Dominic Crupi of the Crupi Group. Under Dominic’s committed and insightful leadership over the past year, OAPC is well-positioned for future successes.

See also  New Brunswick commits $670 million for bridge infrastructure

ORBA Award Winners


ORBA Hall of Fame

ORBA congratulates Ted Arscott (right) on receiving ORBA’s highest honour as the 2022 ORBA Hall of Fame inductee. Co-founder of Roto-Mill Inc. in 1979, Ted joined the ORBA Board in 2003 and stayed on as an active director until 2020. Ted immersed himself in the development and support of the Association during his time on the Board and ORBA members and the industry have benefited greatly from his commitment and generosity.

Ministry of Transportation Awards


Congratulations to Dufferin Construction Company for winning the 2022 Asphalt Paver of the Year Award for work conducted on Contract 2022-2014 (Highway 403 from Wilson St. to west of Jerseyville Rd. in Hamilton).


Dufferin Construction Company was also named the winner of the Concrete Contract of the Year Award for Contract 2019-3015 (QEW from Fairview St. to Lakeshore Rd. in Burlington).

ORBA Awards


Kiewit-Dufferin received this year’s ORBA Transportation Infrastructure Innovation Award for their Rapid Bridge Reconstruction (RBR) at the north side of Highway 417 in Ottawa. The chosen method allowed the project team to successfully complete the project in record time, causing minimal impact on traffic and the public.


Peter Kiewit Sons ULC received this year’s ORBA Community Leadership Award for their various community involvement activities during the construction of the Kingston Third Crossing which amounted to over $10,000 in charitable donations given and over 80 service hours offered by team members.


Amico Infrastructures Inc. received the Routly Safety Milestone Award for companies that have reached the 500,000 to 1,000,000 person-hour plateaus without a lost-time injury for 3 consecutive years. Amico Infrastructures Inc. achieved 2,273,852 person-hours without a lost-time injury.

See also  Toronto kicks off more than $1 billion in construction projects for infrastructure

Beamish Construction Inc. received the Routly Safety Award, Category 2 for the greatest number of person-hours without a lost-time injury for 3 consecutive years in the more-than 100,000 person-hours category. Beamish Construction Inc. achieved 275,041 person-hours without a lost-time injury.


Fuhrscher Installations Inc. received the Routly Safety Award, Category 1 for the greatest number of consecutive person-hours without a lost-time injury for 3 consecutive years in the fewer than 100,000 person-hours category. Fuhrscher Installations Inc. achieved 24,876 person-hours without a lost-time injury.

OAPC Awards


Sina Varamini (right) of Engtec Consulting Inc. received the OAPC Earl Kee Volunteer of the Year Award. Sina has played an integral role on various OAPC committees and has been an instructor on Practical Solutions in Hot Mix Asphalt Technology for the past three years at the ORBA Academy. In December 2021 Sina was recognized as among the Top 10 Under 40 industry leaders in Rock-to-Road Magazine.


Brian Keveryga was posthumously awarded the OAPC Joe Bunting Mentorship Award, recognizing an OAPC member that takes the time to teach, inspire and encourage tomorrow’s industry leaders. Brian was renowned for sharing his knowledge, listening and supporting and promoting excellence to the many people who knew him within the industry.

ORBA Scholarship Recipients

ORBA was pleased to award three scholarships at its 96th Annual Convention. This year’s recipients are all inspiring women and we congratulate them on their achievements:


Imandra Mudalige (left) of George Brown College received the Joe Bunting Scholarship ($3,000), awarded to a student entering their final year of a civil engineering technology program at an Ontario college.

See also  RFP closed for Halton Region Consolidated Courthouse project

Camille Baril of the University of Ottawa received the J.D. Chick Scholarship ($3,000), awarded to a student entering their final year of a civil engineering program at an Ontario University.


Nicole Simmons (right) of Queen’s University received the ORBA Civil Engineering Scholarship ($2,000), awarded to a student entering their first year of a civil engineering program at an Ontario university.

Featured image: ORBA’s newly elected president Mario Villeneuve (left) and outgoing president Kevin Machej. (ORBA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here