Minister of Infrastructure and Communities Amarjeet Sohi has announced the names of the jury members who will advise on the selection of finalists and winners of the Smart Cities Challenge. The Smart Cities Challenge encourages communities of all sizes across the country to develop and implement smart cities initiatives.

The jurors, selected through a transparent and merit-based process, are diverse professionals who are accomplished and publically recognized in fields related to smart cities, including urban planning, architecture, and policy innovation.

“The Smart Cities Challenge will support innovation and drive real outcomes for residents across the country,” Sohi said. “The skilled and diverse jury announced today will help us find the best ideas Canada has to offer so that we can build more inclusive and accessible communities where our residents are informed, secure, and healthy.”

The jury members, are:

  • Brent Bellamy: Winnipeg, Manitoba.
  • Leanne Bellegarde: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.
  • Matthew Claudel: Cambridge, Massachusetts.
  • Andrea Feunekes: Fredericton, New Brunswick.
  • Carol Anne Hilton: Victoria, British Columbia.
  • Lisa Holmes: Morinville, Alberta.
  • Maxime Johnson: Montreal, Quebec.
  • Kaviq Kaluraq: Iqaluit, Nunavut.
  • Kourosh Rad: Halifax, Nova Scotia.
  • Stéphane Roche: Quebec City, Quebec.
  • Gabe Sawhney: Toronto, Ontario.
  • Maayan Ziv: Toronto, Ontario.

The Jury will be led by Chairperson Mark Romoff, who currently serves as the president and CEO of the Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships. The biographies of the jury members can be found on the Infrastructure Canada website.

Over the next few weeks, the Smart Cities Challenge jury will review applications that have been submitted to the competition from communities across Canada. They will assess the applications and recommend twenty finalists to the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.

See also  Mendicino becomes Infrastructure and Communities Parliamentary Secretary

These finalists will be announced in the coming weeks. The jury will also help choose the winners of the competition, who will be announced in spring 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here