Today, Doug Ford was sworn in as the 26th Premier of Ontario, bringing with him a cabinet of 21 experienced MPPs, swearing in Monte McNaughton as Minister of Infrastructure.

Key ministerial roles include:

  • Greg Rickford – Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs
  • John Yakabuski – Minister of Transportation
  • Laurie Scott – Minister of Labour
  • Rod Phillips – Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks

Formerly the Conservative shadow minister for infrastructure, McNaughton is experienced with the file. Last November, McNaughton spoke out against a wind power installation in his riding of Lambton—Kent—Middlesex. At the time, McNaughton claimed that wells had become contaminated by the project.

“Even though the government has suspended further green energy procurement, they continue to push ahead with these two projects,” said McNaughton in a statement at that time. “If stopping turbine construction makes economic, environmental and public health sense, why does the Minister of Energy continue to sign-off on building more and more industrial wind turbines in my riding of Lambton—Kent—Middlesex.”

McNaughton in an image from his website titled: Corporate Welfare, April 28 2016. Image Credit: Minister McNaughton.

As ReNew Canada wrote at the time of Ford’s election, he has outlined his intentions tackle transit, with increased funding in Greater Toronto Area. Earlier this week, Ford proposed an underground transit extension to Pickering. “So folks in Pickering eventually will be able to hop on a subway and get [to] downtown Toronto. People of Markham and the outlying areas, over time, will be on a subway, to make sure that we get traffic moving,” said Ford.

See also  All parties have pledged to spend big in the run up to the Ontario Election

Ford’s campaign promised a thorough audit of government spending and cuts that would eliminate waste without compromising jobs or services. We look forward to further details on Ford’s plans for infrastructure.

A full cabinet list follows.

  • Peter Bethlenfalvy – President of the Treasury Board
  • Raymond Cho – Minister for Seniors and Accessibility
  • Steve Clark – Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing
  • Christine Elliott – Minister of Health and Long-Term Care and Deputy Premier
  • Victor Fedeli – Minister of Finance and Chair of Cabinet
  • Doug Ford – Premier and Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
  • Merrilee Fullerton – Minister of Training, Colleges and Universities
  • Ernie Hardeman – Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs
  • Sylvia Jones – Minister of Tourism, Culture and Sport
  • Lisa MacLeod – Minister of Children, Community and Social Services and Minister Responsible for Women’s Issues
  • Monte McNaughton – Minister of Infrastructure
  • Caroline Mulroney – Attorney General and Minister Responsible for Francophone Affairs
  • Rod Phillips – Minister of the Environment, Conservation and Parks
  • Greg Rickford – Minister of Energy, Northern Development and Mines, and Minister of Indigenous Affairs
  • Laurie Scott – Minister of Labour
  • Todd Smith – Minister of Government and Consumer Services, and Government House Leader
  • Lisa Thompson – Minister of Education
  • Michael Tibollo – Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services
  • Jim Wilson – Minister of Economic Development, Job Creation and Trade
  • John Yakabuski – Minister of Transportation
  • Jeff Yurek – Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here