As part of its Budget 2019 capital plan, 15 new schools, including brand new high schools in Calgary, Edmonton, Leduc, Blackfalds, and Langdon, are being built in Alberta. Six schools are slated for replacement and four will receive modernization or additions. Together, the 25 projects will receive $397 million.

“These 25 projects confirm our government’s commitment to continue to build schools across the province,” said Prasad Panda, Minister of Infrastructure. “Alberta Infrastructure will continue to deliver key infrastructure projects to build prosperity for Albertans.”

Budget 2019 also includes $1.4 billion over four years to continue work on previously announced school projects across Alberta, which includes $123 million for about 250 new modular classrooms to address the most urgent needs for additional space across the province. There are more than 60 projects underway in the province. Twenty-seven are expected to be open for the 2020-21 school year, and the remaining projects are in various stages of planning and construction.

The 25 capital projects are:

Community School Authority Project Type/Name
*Beaumont Conseil scolaire Centre Nord (Greater North Central Francophone Education Region) New school (K-12)
*Blackfalds Wolf Creek Public Schools New high school (9-12)
Buffalo Head Prairie Fort Vermilion School Division Blue Hills Community School addition & modernization
Calgary – Auburn Bay Calgary Board of Education New elementary school (K-4)
Calgary – Auburn Bay Calgary Board of Education New middle school (5-9)
Calgary – north Calgary Board of Education New high school (10-12)
Carstairs Chinook’s Edge School Division Carstairs Elementary School addition
Cochrane Calgary Catholic School District New elementary/junior high school (K-9)
Condor & Leslieville Wild Rose School Division David Thompson solution modernization/replacement
*Edmonton – south east Edmonton Public Schools New high school (10-12)
Edmonton – Windermere-Keswick Edmonton Public Schools New elementary/junior high (K-9)
*Edmonton – Heritage Valley Town Centre Edmonton Catholic Schools New high school (10-12)
Edmonton – Windermere/Keswick Edmonton Catholic Schools New elementary/junior high (K-9)
*Fort Chipewyan Northland School Division Athabasca Delta School modernization/replacement
*Grande Prairie Peace Wapiti School Division Harry Balfour School replacement
*Langdon Rocky View Schools New junior/senior high school (7-12)
*Leduc Black Gold School Division New high school (10-12)
Legal Conseil scolaire Centre Nord

(Greater North Central Francophone Education Region)

New elementary/junior high school (K-9)
Morinville Greater St. Albert Catholic Schools Morinville Community High School CTS modernization
Morrin Prairie Land School Division Morrin School replacement
Peace River Conseil Scolaire du Nord-Ouest

(Northwest Francophone Education Region)

École des Quatre-Vents replacement
*Red Deer Red Deer Catholic Regional Schools New middle school (6-9)
Smoky Lake Aspen View Public Schools H.A. Kostash replacement
*St. Albert St. Albert Public Schools Bellerose Composite High School addition & modernization
Whitecourt Living Waters Catholic Schools New elementary school (K-3)

*Design funding

See also  Healthcare infrastructure spending on the horizon in Alberta


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here