The Government of Canada has announced the awarding of the first installment of gas tax funding for all ten provinces and all three territories.

“Local governments know best what their communities need and the Government of Canada is proud to deliver stable, long-term funding that they count on to develop and maintain their public infrastructure,” said François-Philippe Champagne, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities. “By investing in our communities, the Government of Canada is promoting economic growth and environmental sustainability, and helping ensure all Canadians have access to the opportunities they need to succeed.”

Communities can invest across 18 different project categories:

  • public transit
  • wastewater infrastructure
  • drinking water
  • solid waste management
  • community energy systems
  • local roads and bridges
  • capacity building
  • highways
  • local and regional airports
  • short-line rail
  • short-sea shipping
  • disaster mitigation
  • broadband and connectivity
  • brownfield redevelopment
  • culture
  • tourism
  • sport
  • recreation

They can also use the funds immediately for priority projects, bank them for later use, pool the dollars with other communities for shared infrastructure projects, or use them to finance major infrastructure expenditures.

The approximate allotments given to the 11 jurisdictions were:

  • British Columbia – $139.3 million
  • Alberta – $114.7 million
  • Saskatchewan – $30.9 million
  • Manitoba – $36 million
  • Ontario – $408 million
  • Quebec – $252 million
  • New Brunswick – $23.8 million
  • PEI – $8.25 million
  • Nova Scotia – $29.2 million
  • Newfoundland and Labrador – $16.4 million
  • Yukon – $8.25 million
  • Northwest Territories – $8.25 million
  • Nunavut – $8.25 million

For more information on federal gas tax funding, visit

See also  B.C. battles over infrastructure


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here