The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) marked World Architecture Day virtually in 2022 with its annual Queen’s Park Picks (QP Picks) program—a collaborative celebration with MPPs across the province who share their passion for local architecture. Each year, a special exhibition at Queen’s Park highlights a selection of outstanding buildings. However, following the adjournment of the legislature, the OAA will presented the 2022 Queen’s Park Picks online at

Now in its seventh year, the OAA’s Queen’s Park Picks (QP Picks) program asks Members of Provincial Parliament (MPPs) to share their favourite buildings or other structures from their ridings to be showcased as part of an annual celebration of architecture. The Association’s Policy Advocacy Coordination Team (PACT) reviews the nominations and selects a shortlist of outstanding projects to mark World Architecture Day, held annually on the first Monday of October.

An emerging theme from this year’s QP Picks is community, with numerous buildings playing important roles as spaces where people gather. As public health restrictions continue to ease and members of the public find themselves sharing spaces once again, the important role of community-centred buildings has come to the fore. This year, nominations highlighted some of the province’s most beloved gathering spaces.

“I am so thrilled that year after year, our Members of Provincial Parliament join us in recognizing the marvelous examples of Ontario architecture found in all parts of our province,” said OAA president Susan Speigel. “We must continue to respect and revere these beautiful places that form a crucial part of our social fabric.”

See also  Toronto announces opening of 59 new permanent modular homes 

Nine projects have been selected by a jury of architects for this year’s Queen’s Park Picks online exhibit, which showcases the diversity of architecture in Ontario. The buildings chosen were:

Abilities Centre in Whitby
Architect: B+H Architects Corp.
Nominated by MPP Lorne Coe

(Toni Hafkenscheid courtesy of B+H Architects Corp.)

Adawe Bridge in Ottawa
Architect: Stantec Architecture Ltd.
Nominated by MPP Lucille Collard

(Courtesy of Stantec Architecture Ltd.)

Franklin Carmichael Art Centre Building in Toronto (Etobicoke)
Architect: unknown
Nominated by Premier Doug Ford

(Photo by Kurtis Chen)

Holy Protection of the Mother of God Ukrainian Catholic Church in Guelph
Architect: Evhen Gren
Nominated by MPP Mike Schreiner

(Tony –

Jeremiah McKay Kabayshewekamik in Sioux Lookout
Architect: ft3 Architecture Landscape Interior Design in association with Manasc Isaac Architects (now Reimagine)
Nominated by MPP Sol Mamakwa

(Courtesy of FT3 Architecture Landscape Interior Design)

Place des Arts in Sudbury
Architects: Moriyama & Teshima Architects in joint venture with Yallowega Belanger Salach Architecture
Nominated by MPP Jamie West

(Tom Arban courtesy of Yallowega Belanger Salach Architecture)

Union Station in Toronto
Architects: Ross and MacDonald, Hugh Jones (Assistant Chief Architect,
Canadian Pacific Railway) and John M. Lyle Architect
Architects of Renovation (2022): NORR Architects & Engineers Limited, EVOQ Architecture Inc., Zeidler Architecture, PARTISANS (interior), IBI Group (second platform)
Nominated by MPP Chris Glover


Victoria County Gaol in Lindsay
Architect: Cumberland and Storm
Nominated by MPP Laurie Scott

(Courtesy Kawartha Lakes Museum & Archives)

Victoria Hall (Brockville City Hall) in Brockville
Architect: Henry H. Horsey
Architect of Renovation: O. E. Liston
Nominated by MPP Steve Clark

(pixs:sell –

Featured image: (OAA)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here