Saskatchewan Premier Scott Moe has announced a number of significant changes to the cabinet after receiving a renewed majority mandate in the province’s 29th general election.

“It is an honour to put in place a new cabinet to guide a government with a strong, new mandate from the people of Saskatchewan,” said Moe.  “Our cabinet will continue the crucial work of building a strong Saskatchewan, work that is even more important as we continue the response to the COVID-19 pandemic and manage Saskatchewan’s economic recovery.”

Donna Harpauer will become Saskatchewan’s Deputy Premier.  Harpauer has served in every cabinet since the election of the current government in 2007 and will be the first woman to hold the role in Saskatchewan in more than 30 years. She also retains the portfolio of Minister of Finance, a role she has held since 2017.

Four other MLAs retain their current cabinet portfolios:

  • Christine Tell remains Minister of Corrections, Policing and Public Safety.  The addition of Public Safety reflects an added cabinet responsibility for the Saskatchewan Public Safety Agency.
  • Jeremy Harrison remains Minister of Trade and Export Development and Minister of Immigration and Career Training while adding responsibility as Minister Responsible for Innovation Saskatchewan and Minister Responsible for Tourism Saskatchewan.
  • David Marit remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Crop Insurance Corporation.
  • Bronwyn Eyre remains Minister of Energy and Resources.

Nine MLAs remain in cabinet with new cabinet portfolios:

  •  Jim Reiter becomes Minister of SaskBuilds and Procurement, Minister Responsible for the Public Service Commission, and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority.  Reiter will oversee a new approach to the management of all infrastructure projects and assets, standardized government procurement and IT infrastructure through the creation of the Ministry of SaskBuilds and Procurement, a ministry that will be established from the merged responsibilities of the former Ministry of Central Services and SaskBuilds.
See also  Three cities selected for Smart Energy Communities Scorecard pilot


Jim Reiter, Minister of SaskBuilds and Procurement

  • Don Morgan becomes Minister of Crown Investments Corporation and becomes Minister responsible for all major crown corporations, including SaskEnergy, SGI, SaskPower, SaskTel, SaskGaming and SaskWater.  Morgan remains Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace Safety and Minister Responsible for the Saskatchewan Workers’ Compensation Board.
  • Dustin Duncan becomes Minister of Education.
  • Gordon Wyant becomes Minister of Justice and Attorney General.
  • Joe Hargrave becomes Minister of Highways and Minister Responsible for Saskatchewan Water Security Agency.
  • Paul Merriman becomes Minister of Health.
  • Gene Makowsky becomes Minister of Advanced Education.
  • Warren Kaeding becomes Minister of Environment.
  • Lori Carr becomes Minister of Social Services.

Three MLAs are entering cabinet:

  • Don McMorris becomes Minister of Government Relations, Minister Responsible for First Nations, Métis and Northern Affairs, and Minister Responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission.
  • Laura Ross becomes Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport, and Minister Responsible for the Status of Women.
  • Everett Hindley becomes Minister of Mental Health and Addictions, Seniors and Rural and Remote Health.  Hindley’s portfolio includes a new, priority focus on mental health and addictions resources, programming and funding, while retaining a priority focus on Seniors and Rural and Remote Health.

“As a cabinet, we are taking up our duties during an uncertain time in this province,” said Moe. “But there is every reason to be optimistic as we work toward building a strong, vibrant, growing Saskatchewan.”

The size of cabinet remains unchanged at 18, including the Premier.

Other notable changes are listed at the Saskatchewan government website.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here